Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

97 civic lx b18c5 swap

3K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  PnKStRKiD 
#1 ·
Hi everyone. i am new to car upgrades and stuff. I have a 97 honda civic lx 4-door, and i was wondering if a b18c5 (i think gsr or type r) engine would fit into my car? Would i need to make any adjustments to make it fit like new mounts or something or would it just bolt right in? i need as much help as possible because i know nothing about this as of now. so all the help would be greatly appreciated. also, a website that would be great to buy one from would be great. i currently work at a mechanic shop so doing the swap should be pretty easy cause i can just do it there. but i want experts such as yourselves to help me on this decision. i do currently have the original engine in it with like 2 mods but they don't do much but make noise :p i just want some more hp for my little car cause i know for sure now that there is no way i am getting a new car right now for a really loooooooooooooong time. so i have to make due with this and i heard an engine swap to like a b18 would do me some good. i am not really racing my car cause i know i won't win right now. it is just my daily driving car. and i love it. so now that i have wasted enough of your time reading this and i want a response and as much info as possible, so i will stop typing and allow you to tell me all you know that will help me make this swap, if it is a good swap, and roughly how much you think it will take to do.

#4 ·
so then i should just change cams? one of my co-workers said i should just swap my engine to a gsr engine and just put type r cams or headers on it and it would be just as good as a type r. is this right? i heard that the h22 would be too heavy for my car. i have already decided on not swapping that into my car.

#5 ·