How to prep and paint fender? - Honda Forum : Honda and Acura Car Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Honda Forum : Honda and Acura Car Forums > Performance - Tech > Appearance & Sound > Cosmetic & Body

SuperHonda.com is the premier Honda Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2003, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Y2A
SH Titanium

Car: '94 Accord LX
Mods:
Y2A is an unknown quantity at this point
How to prep and paint fender?

Since my front right fender is dented pretty damn bad, im getting a new 1 from www.theaccordstore.com. Since I have no experience painting metal body panels, how do I prep the fender and how many coats of paint should i use? my car color is champion white(i think, its the stock white color for the '94 accord LX), how many grit sand paper do i use? and when the fender arrives, whats the first thing i should do to prep it?

HELP a noob in need!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2003, 11:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Y2A
SH Titanium

Mods:
Damn, no1 know how to do this?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 02-26-2003, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackMoon Ninja

Car: 92 civic lx 4 door, 98 nissan frontier
Mods:
super_civic is on a distinguished road
1.sand the fender with 220 grit then sand with 320 grit.
2.Seal the fender with epoxy primer.
3.wet sand with 400 grit until there are no spots unsanded.
4.primer the panel with white primer.
5.wet sand with 400 again.
6.wipe fender down with wax and grease remover.
7.put your base coat on. first coat needs to be light. put about 2 or 3 coats. wait until the base coat flashes off before applying another coat.
8.then clear coat it. put about 2 or 3 coats of clear.
9.wetsand with 1200 grit then buff it and wax it.
Your done!!