Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

can a 96 accord go fast?

4K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  91EGGURA 
#1 ·
hello i am logging on for a friend of mine who has a honda. after he saw me fix up my mustang he now has a need for speed so to say. as the title says he has a 96 with the v6 engine. now i dont know a lot about hondas, but i have a feeling he dosnt have the best platform for fast car. i have heard about h22's and b18's... nothing about honda v6's. i know good and well a turbo kit will get him going faster, but he dosnt have the cash for that. i am a mechanic so i will be doing the work for him. in the mustang world a head swap is the best bang for the buck for naturally aspirated power. now i dont know how much more work may or may not be involved seeing as how the heads have cams in them... i think with these engines. but that is a definite possibility. i know the classic cai and headers are the ussual beginner mods, but i know from experience that with these little motors it dosnt do much for seat of the pants feel. my buddy is no speed racer but i dont that thats going to keep him content. if any one has comment on how we may be able to get this car going for a reasonable price im willing to hear any suggestions. it also may be in the cards to trade his car in and buy a decent used honda/acura, if we go that route do you have any suggestions on a good platform that isnt hideous (sorry crx guys)

#2 ·