Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

Whining power steering pump

24K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  MortsAccord 
#1 ·
I have two issues on my 2005 Honda (Accord v6) that I has me concerned.
First of all, I was experiencing some whining noise that was originating from power steering pump. I read that o-ring at pressure hose needed replacing, therefore, I replaced it on my own. Although, the whining noise decreased at first (I thought it would eventually be gone completely), it has been approximately 3 months and whining noise remains. I also recently read that power steering hoses need to be bled. I have never done this before and need some info on how it should be done. Can Anyone help me on this matter?
Secondly, an amber colored light (in the outlined shape of motor - transverse angle) came on in my dash. I could use some clarification on what this warning light could be telling me. Does anyone have any answers?
Thanks in advance for your input.

#3 ·
Yes, turn the str wheel from lock to lock at a steady pace where it's not too slow nor too fast, because if you do it too fast, the pwr str fluid can go flying everywhere out of the reservoir. Now, I don't remember if the cap on the pwr str reservoir should be off or not while bleeding the system; can't remember since it has been two years.

#4 ·
Purging the fluid out is what I would recommend. Bleeding the system won't change the pumps whining noise. However it would help the feel of the steering if there was indeed air trapped in the system.

Purging the fluid is pretty easy. You have to disconnnect the return line and plug the orfice where the return line connects to the resivior. Put the return line into a container to hold the flying you are purging out, or add a length of clear tubing (available at lowes). Pick up some power steering fluid for Honda vehicles- at least 5 bottles.