Car is running like shit (rich at times for no reason) HELP! - Honda Forum : Honda and Acura Car Forums
 
 

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Honda Forum : Honda and Acura Car Forums > Honda - Vehicles > Civic Forum

SuperHonda.com is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2004, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Johnny Tran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9,293
Car:
Mods:
Johnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problem
Car is running like shit (rich at times for no reason) HELP!

I am having some issues with my car and I can't seem to figure out what the problem is. Please read both of the posts I made yesterday and today belowe and see if you can figure out what the problem could be?? I'm lost!


11-1-04

Quote:
This just started happening yesterday. The car will run fine in the higher rpm range (3500+) but between 2-3k the car "feels" like its running extremely rich (the car sputters really bad and you can smell gas) Its really weird because it doesnt do it all the time, but when it does it sputters really bad until you get past 3-3500 rpm, then its runs ok???? The only issue the car has is that I DESTROYED my header on a man hole and its dented pretty badly. However, its been like that for about 1-2 months and the car has never done this. The only other thing I can think of is that it started after I got gas yesterday, but if it were bad gas, why would it only act like that in the low rpms?
My mods are Skunk2 stage 1 cams, gears, springs, etc...I'm running a Kenji chipped p-28 tuned by p1auto with a vafc. The car has been tuned and running excelent for over a year now, and non of the settings have been touched, so this is weirding me out.

I have not had a chance to pull any plugs, I also just ordered a new header from p1 and plan to have him look at the car after I put it on and put it on the dyno if necessesary to figure out the problem.

From what I explained can any of you guys think of what it could be?

Cliffs notes:

-Car running like its running really rich (sputtering badly) from 2-3500k rpm (but runs ok in the higher revs)

-only known mechanical issue is a dented (badly) header but its been like that for almost 2 months with no issues besides the car having lost some top end power)

-mods are stage 1 cams, p-28 chipped tuned with vafc (been tuned for over a year no problems)

Edit: Fuel preasure looks good according to the trusty gauge under the hood

11-2-04

Quote:
The problem seems to be getting worse and worse and it really makes no sense to me. 7/10 times the car starts normally and runs normal until about 10 minutes of driving. After that the car starts to idle like shit and you can smell gas. If you try to drive it from a stop the car shutters like a choked out lawn mower until you get above ~3500 rpm, then it pulls out of it. I know the header is crushed badly (just ordered the new one) but its been like that for ~2 months. If its the 02 then why am I not throwing a code and why is it only doing it sometimes and in the lower rpms?

Im gonna replace the plugs, but again even if the plugs are fouled, why would the car not act like this all the time and only when it's been running for some time?

Basically the car is in some way "flooding" itself out or out of know where running very rich (i think) in the lower rpms and idle after its been running for about 10 minutes)

Someone here please add something cause I'm lost

Just pulled the plugs:

__________________
2000 EBP Si
STOLEN 11-21-04
Team OG AKA v00tecsi
Johnny Tran is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2004, 06:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Iron Monk
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,140
Car: 98 Integra LS
Mods:
Hybrid Fever is a name known to allHybrid Fever is a name known to allHybrid Fever is a name known to allHybrid Fever is a name known to allHybrid Fever is a name known to allHybrid Fever is a name known to all
How are your injectors and fuel pump?
Hybrid Fever is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Black Cloud
 
kommon_sense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 11,248
Car: 98 Civic Ex Coupe
Mods:
kommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapykommon_sense needs rep therapy
plug tips look pretty good. Did you check the gap on those plugs when you pulled them? Also checked your timing lately? you sure those ground wires are in good shape?
kommon_sense is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 06:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
S Zero Racer
 
BurntRubber87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wiggletown, NY
Posts: 2,699
Car:
Mods:
BurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapyBurntRubber87 needs rep therapy
Maybe an injector is messed up..like partially stuck open so at idle you are getting too much fuel..but at higher open you don't notice it because you know...you're using more fuel? Maybe check your injectors?
__________________
1990 Accord EX
BurntRubber87 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
jon
Cypher Wave
 
jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 33,541
Car: 2007 f150 xlt lariat
Mods: Toolbox
jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?
looks like you are running lean, due to your plugs being white, if it were rich they would be black, and if it were running good, they would be brown. and as kommon said, i would put a timing light on and see if it is on. cause that is what it sounds like to me, with the symptoms being ok cold, and shitty warm and higher rpms
__________________
Founding member of the Superhonda Drunken Asshole Commission
jon is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 08:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Cypher Wave
 
NationsMostWanted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: City in Cali!
Posts: 20,271
Car: 2008 Infiniti G35S and 2008 Mercedes-Benz C300 Sport
Mods: Taillight Overlays and Magnaflow Exhaust
NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?NationsMostWanted you're still here?
im thinking maybe its something in ur ignition system maybe a misfire or something causing the car to flood. but the misfire is intermittent and after wards the plug burns back to its lean condition.

does ur car usually run more on the rich or lean side?

ur running a obd1 ecu right?

off the top of my head im not sure but does the obd1 ecus monitor the valves on the o2 sensor like obd2 does since obd2 was created for emissions
__________________
2008 Infiniti G35 Sedan Blue Slate/Graphite Interior:Sports and Premium Package 5AT, 2008 Mercedes-Benz C300

NationsMostWanted is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 09:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
SuperHonda Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 181
Car: '92 Civic Hatch dx
Mods: Tdo5 turbo, Front mount intercooler,fuel upgrade, chipped ECU
turboHatch11 is an unknown quantity at this point
i had a prob simaler (cant spell) to that and it was that the coil in my distributor was out and wasnt getting the right amount of spark. I hacked an old dist. off of a 1.5 and swapped the coils and the car ran fine.

ohh I thought that it was the timing to and I timed and disasembled 2 or 3 times before i checked the dist.
turboHatch11 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 10:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Johnny Tran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9,293
Car:
Mods:
Johnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problemJohnny Tran has a Rep problem
I did not check the gap, but i am getting new plugs and cap just in case. as far as the timing, i did not check it, but the car was tuned 3 times on the dyno and everything was set and running perfect for over a year now. I double posted this thread just because i needed your help asap so sorry for that.

In the si forum were leaning more towards an 02 problem due to the fact that the car only acts up after its been running for 10 minutes (which rules out some of the other theories) Were thinking its running ok in closed loop but in open loop is where the 02 is fucking up. The reason for the lack od a cel may be due to the chipped ecu?

Gonna start with plugs, new cap, and an 02.

Thank you guys so much and keep the ideas coming!
__________________
2000 EBP Si
STOLEN 11-21-04
Team OG AKA v00tecsi
Johnny Tran is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 01:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Dark Wind
 
iLLeFFeKt CiViC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: in my VR-4
Posts: 6,555
Car: 93 civic dx
Mods:
iLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapyiLLeFFeKt CiViC needs rep therapy
i think the o2 sensor/s are to blame. there have been cases when they went bad and the CEL never comes on.
__________________
2005 Subaru Legacy
2004 Audi S4 - sold
1989 Camry - sold
1993 Civic dx-sold
1991 Galant VR-4 sold
1991 Eclipse gsx-sold
If I two-step your A$$ then you know I'm serious!
iLLeFFeKt CiViC is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 09:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,180
Car:
Mods:
inmycivicex is just really niceinmycivicex is just really niceinmycivicex is just really niceinmycivicex is just really nice
my car does the exact same thing. 2-3.5k it boggs and then jumps out of it. but who wants to run up to 4k all the time. i HATE IT! so i know how you feel.


and speaking of your plugs....i was under the impression that they should look grey, which yours do, so they look fine.
inmycivicex is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 10:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
jon
Cypher Wave
 
jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 33,541
Car: 2007 f150 xlt lariat
Mods: Toolbox
jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?jon you're still here?
Quote:
Originally Posted by inmycivicex
and speaking of your plugs....i was under the impression that they should look grey, which yours do, so they look fine.
you want your plugs to look a nice brown color kinda like the plug on the very left in tran's pic, except a lil darker brown.
__________________
Founding member of the Superhonda Drunken Asshole Commission
jon is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 10:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
BlackMoon Ninja
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: yes...
Posts: 819
Car: yes...
Mods: STOCK
mRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapy
have you tried checking your MAP sensor plug? It might not be IT but when i had bogging problems the map sensor plug was to blame. I just cut mine off and soldered a new one on, now runs fine..or..uh...car's not running now...because of timing belt and bearings, but it did fix the problem!! 8)
mRek9R is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 10:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
BlackMoon Ninja
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: yes...
Posts: 819
Car: yes...
Mods: STOCK
mRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapymRek9R needs rep therapy
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFK_SI_EG
you want your plugs to look a nice brown color kinda like the plug on the very left in tran's pic, except a lil darker brown.
hahaha..mmMMMmmm..the way you describe it, it kinda sounds like bacon.....hahaa....8) sorry OT..
mRek9R is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.