Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I am starting to plan my trunk install. Nothing extravagant. No fiberglass. Just MDF(?) and Carpet. Need Ideas and help. I think I want to put a sub on both sides and i will mount one amp to each side also as this will still leave me with a useable trunk. I am a NOOB when it comes to design so i will need your expert opinion.

A couple of quick questions.

Will the closed in speakers need a port?

I am using 2-10" JBL's for now. How much air space will I need behind the walls?

·
Registered
582 Posts
silveracc said:
Ok so I am starting to plan my trunk install. Nothing extravagant. No fiberglass. Just MDF(?) and Carpet. Need Ideas and help. I think I want to put a sub on both sides and i will mount one amp to each side also as this will still leave me with a useable trunk. I am a NOOB when it comes to design so i will need your expert opinion.

A couple of quick questions.

Will the closed in speakers need a port?

I am using 2-10" JBL's for now. How much air space will I need behind the walls?
youre pretty much just looking at a standard box if you want it all MDF. for what you want, fiberglass the back of the enclosure sand it and put MDF in the front to make it appear flat.

it depends what kind of sound you want if you want a seald or ported box. if you like big bass then ported, if you like sound quality more then get sealed. a ported box is usually bigger.

·
Registered
8,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No the speakers are in a bandpass box now. I don't want that I want to build the speakers into the trunk.

·
Registered
8,193 Posts
Could you get the model numbers for the JBL's you have,also what kinda overall sound are you going for? Do you want sound quality over loudness or loudness over sound quality?

·
Registered
8,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #5