Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Newbie here..I am planning on buying some ADR Sokudos White finish for my 88..and am seeing alot or heard that 18"s are no good for it. Is it the look thats no good or is that the handling and lowering cant be done with them on..which would make it handle better.
For me I'm not doing it for racing. I just prefer 18's for the look of it. Whats your opinions?

·
Registered
2,442 Posts
njn63 said:
:nod

CRX's with 18's usually are like 10" off the ground (even when lowered to elimiinate wheel gap). Also, they're heavy and just too big for the car to move with. I personally thing 16's are as big as i'd go and i prefer 15's

werd.

where you located in Chicago?

·
Banned
2,057 Posts
18's are way too big for a CRX. They look like 24s on some truck. They handle like shit, and the tires you'll have will be rubber bands. I don't think you can really even lower your car with 18s...

If you're building a race CRX, get 15s. If you want a bit of show, get 16s. I have 16s on my CRX, which is my daily driver, and I would never want anything bigger. They just seem to fit perfectly.

·
Registered
359 Posts
I am in support of the rest of the people here. anything bigger than 16" wheels will have a negative affect on handling. with 18's you lose any bit of ride quality you once had, car will lose it's bite in the corners, gas mileage goes to shit, lose some acceleration, etc. 17's are about the biggest wheel you see on them and i think those are a shade too much.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thank you guys for input, as yes I am fairly new to this whole auto world. Learning slow. Figured they were too big. Guess I will look around for 16's or 17's.. Peace!

·
Registered
1,834 Posts