Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys... before I start... I want to tell you all I'm a major Honda Newb! I drive a Nissan 300ZX Z32 NA and I was never really big fan of most Honda's. I do however have had much respect for those guys running clean all-motor Civic's. I know next to nothing about Honda's, their engine codes, and what is what. I'm however not completely retarded...

I'm on the verge of picking up a 1987 Civic Four Door for a whole $200. Runs but it's overheating.... no white smoke so I'm guessing it's maybe the thermostat (I know this is not the tech side of the forum).

I was hoping maybe someone can give more info on this model of Civic and maybe some possible swap combo's that I might be able to hook up. Are there any mods availble? I've done some searching on the web and this forum and I have come up with zilch. I'm pretty sure that doesn't have anything to do with this not being a very popular mod platform... y'right!

I'm going to use this car as a daliy driver but would not mind hooking her up and making it a nice clean car... Thanks a million!

·
Registered
2,850 Posts
hey man, that there new ride you got is considered a "third gen" civic, and while it's not a terrible platform to start with, it isn't the most popular either. and not just because of its age!

1) doesn't have double wishbone suspension. no idea what kind of suspension set up, but i know it doesn't have the famous double wishbone, which honda first brought to the Civic line in 1988.

2) depending on which trim level, yours might have a carb'd motor. carbs aren't necessarily a bad thing IMO, but it's easier to find lots of mods for the fuel injected ones.

3) next to no body mods around anymore. actually, i don't recall if there ever were a lot of body mods for that generation, especially the 4 door.