Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 96 civic ex with a bone stock D16y8... I'm a college student on a budget, I love the gas mileage, and I'm not particularly concerned with an engine swap or forced induction. I don't really have any desire to race, but I'd like a little extra kick to be there when I need it. I'm talking 20, 30 hp increase, tops... what's the best way to go about achieving that? And what kind of increase should I expect from a simple CAI, header, and cat back combo? Also, as far as the exhaust, how big of difference would it make between simply buying a high flow cat and a muffler and going with the stock pipes as opposed to purchasing a full cat back system?

·
Registered
14,616 Posts
griffin_te; said:
yeah, that was an accident. my computer is lagging like crazy and i closed the window thinking it hadn't gone through
no big deal man. just letting you know in case you thought it would be good to have it in 2 forums.

·
Registered
87 Posts
there isnt really any real cheap and easy way to get 20-30 horse.. i mean i have a custom turbo set up and my own tune on my ecu so im only like $300 deep into this set up, probably like an extra 25 horse from that.

you will probably see 10-12 horse from the exhaust, intake, and header. i would NOT throw a muffler and high flow cat on a stock exhaust, all you'll get from that is alot of sound and NO performance. get an entire exhaust, or get one made at your local muffler shop if your on a real budget.

·
Registered
44 Posts
the only way i know to get that without major mods is hondata..............but thats just my opinion b/c its a vtec motor ....it can be expensive but its worth it ......

·
Registered
401 Posts