Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased my Del Sol form my uncle and have been thoroughly pleased with the exception of one thing. POWER!!! The engine in it is a D15B7 and is way weak! I am aware that the Del Sol came with better engines and being it is a Honda, one is capable of swapping for even better types. I must admit I am fairly good at working on cars but I have very little experience with Honda. What I am leaning towards is one of the VTEC engines but I am leary of changing every single bolt. Which engine would you recommend for the greatest gain with the least amount of hassle?

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How much hate will i feel with the B18 Swap? I'm assuming the B18B1?

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Is it possible to do a B20 in that engine space?

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks blue and that makes sense on the weight problem. I was wondering about the sub differences on the B18 ie:A1,B1, C, C1, C3, and C4 any thing I should worry about when shopping?

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
no worries I'm leaning towards the B18 as soon as I learn a little more!

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
How much torque loss would I be looking at with entry level cams and so forth?

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I heard the B18C was pushing 200hp stock vs. B18B was only 140 to 150. Why not go with that one?

· Premium Member
29,824 Posts
I heard the B18C was pushing 200hp stock vs. B18B was only 140 to 150. Why not go with that one?
b18c is the designation for the japanese integra gsr (sir-g)178hp and the type R 195

in the U.S. the b18c1 is the gsr and it makes 8 less hp than the jspec (8 hp means nothing in a race)

the u.s. type r is the b18c5 190-195hp.