Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9,948 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am far from a mechanical doofus, but I can not understand how a stall converter in an Automatic gearbox works. I am 100% puzzled as to how it works, what it does & it's main function is. Someone explained it to me once, but I couldn't understand much of the explanation. I hear about a stall converter's "stall speed" increased to, say, 2500rpm. What the hell does all this mean? Can someone explain who, what, when, where & why a stall converter is?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,507 Posts
stall speed is like dropping the clutch in a stick at that speed.

if you don't rev the motor to at least that speed before you take off, it's like riding the clutch...

there's more, but i'm sure that others will explain

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
then why install higher stall speed TC's? i would want a lower stall speed TC

·
Registered
9,948 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
flylwsi said:
stall speed is like dropping the clutch in a stick at that speed.

if you don't rev the motor to at least that speed before you take off, it's like riding the clutch...

there's more, but i'm sure that others will explain
Ah, sort of like dumping the clutch, correct? So, if the stall speed is set at 3000rpm, then the car will not take off/start moving (the torque converter will not "lock/engage") until 3000rpm?

I have an article in which a 2JZ-GTE was swapped into a Soarer (originally it had a 1JZ-GTE), & the article said that they needed to increase the automatic gearboxes stall speed to something like 5000rpm (the turbo was some huge thing like a T78 & they raised the stall speed to allow the turbine to spool up). Does this sound right?

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
mls said:
Ah, sort of like dumping the clutch, correct? So, if the stall speed is set at 3000rpm, then the car will not take off/start moving (the torque converter will not "lock/engage") until 3000rpm?