Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I am a newbie racer and want some advice on quality turbo chargers.

I am planning on buying a 99-00 Civic Si (DOHC VTEC).
I want to get it turbo charged with a VERY powerfull turbo charger and good quality intercooler, I want a boost controller so I don't burn my engine out. I also want an oil cooler kit, blow-off valves, and waste-gates. I want to go to a company trusted by honda that has all these parts for my particular model. Any help is appreciated or any suggestions.

Also how much do you think they would charge for labor alone for all those parts I mentioned to be installed along with a gauge pod that has a boost gauge, oil temperature gauge, and air/feul ratio gauge? I know it totally depends on the place and how much they charge per hour and how quick they are but can somebody who has had experience give me a range or an estimate?

Also what other parts should I get to not hurt my car?

I already decided on intake and exhaust.

Also do all turbo chargers from companies COME with the exhaust manifold or is that seperate?

What type of turbo should I get that would give my car an extremely high boost but not to a point that it would burn out my engine in a year or something (note: will be using a boost controller) and how much boost can I expect?

Can boost controllers let you change the boost ON COMMAND like in a matter of seconds so you can only turn it up on races?

Thanks!!!

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hmmm - I see now - I'm willing to spend however much it takes. I've seen turbo's for like 1,500 and shit but I want a powerfull good quality one.

If I get a boost conroller, would it be easy to lower the boost to a REALLY REALLY low boost when I'm just cruising?

How much does labor cost? That's my REAL worry. This will probably take me a long time to do because of school and all but I want a powerfull Honda.