Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i tried a diy spark plug replacement...so i headed down to autozone and grab me a full set of denzo standards but from what i just read on the forums i see that ngk is better but 3 of the spark plugs starting from left to right came out no problem but the last (which actually the first one i started on) is not comin out...i think its stripped and i have no idea how to get it out. i was told you should let the engine cool down cause spark plugs get hot and can strip easier if you dont let them cool down but i guess i wasnt thinking of that while i was doin the project. please help me cause im a broke azz college student and dont think i can afford to take this to a professional mechanic shop and was wonderin can i take the stripped spark plug out myself

·
Registered
5,438 Posts
if you really fucked up the threads the head is going to have to be milled out and a sleeve inserted to bring it back down to size, then its going to have to be re-threaded...........

this requires machine shop equipment and experience beyond what it sounds like you have, so ur probly out a couple hundred bucks......

next time you do a diy job that you really dont know how to do, look it up online or in the haynes or chiltons manual for your car (if you dont own these, GET THEM, worth the $10-$15)

·
Registered
3,685 Posts
hobie237 said:
if you really fucked up the threads the head is going to have to be milled out and a sleeve inserted to bring it back down to size, then its going to have to be re-threaded...........

this requires machine shop equipment and experience beyond what it sounds like you have, so ur probly out a couple hundred bucks......

next time you do a diy job that you really dont know how to do, look it up online or in the haynes or chiltons manual for your car (if you dont own these, GET THEM, worth the $10-$15)