Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to hondas and driving my prelude i feel like it sux at braking and so i checked the brake pads and there is lots of pad left, so im wondering is it normal to have to push the pedal really hard and feel like it isnt stopping or could osmehting be wrong.

·
Registered
826 Posts
Need more info. Who did the last job, you or a brake shop? When was the last time the brake fluid was changed? What brake pads are currently being used? How many times were the rotors refaced? Do you still have OEM rotors? OEM brake lines? More info = more help.

If you don't have the answers to these questions let us know and if you're doing the work yourself, let us know. All that helps us help you.

·
Registered
349 Posts
From what your describing, there could be a few things you can check. First, I would check the vacuum line going into the booster, and make sure it isn't cracked and leaking, and that it has good pressure and a tight fit. Then I would check the brake lines. The only other thing that would do what your saying, sounds like air in your lines. You will have to bleed the lines, one at a time, via helms style, to get ALL the air out. That is really the only two things I could think of, that would cause your symptoms. Glazing, on the discs, would kinda do that, but not that severe. If all else, take the discs off, and have them resurfaced, if the problem still persists. Good Luck...

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
but if i had air or was leaking fluid wouldnt i lose the pedal?? it has a good string pedal, maybe im just not used to it. my old cutty i barely lay my foot on the brake and it ants to lock up.

·
Registered
3,154 Posts
manalishi said:
same here. actually, every honda ive ever been in has brakes that if you accidently push in too hard or too fast you feel like you just got hit from behind. :p
That's not the feeling I get from them...