Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's the difference between cold air and turbo? Like you can't have "cold air" and a turbo on the same car can you? Cold air takes cold air from through the bumper and a turbo just heats up the air and feeds it through, so the turbo just cancells out the point of having a cold air.. Is that true? Feed me some knowledge, I'm a bit new to this stuff so this probobly seems like a stupid question.. So how does that work?

·
Registered
3,077 Posts
Yes your can have both. Think of it this way, would the engine rather pull in cold air or hot air? Where is their cooler? Behind the radiator in the engine bay( where most idiots put a filter on their turbo, or worse yet chicken wire over the turbos compressor wheel) or routing some piping into the fender well and sticking a filter on it there?

Essentially that would be adding a "cold air intake" to your "turbocharged engine". The colder the intake temp is the more compression it can handle before it reaches a temperature where your fuel will auto ignite. Not only that but 80 degree air rising to 800 degrees will produce more pressure( horsepower/torque) than 300 degree air rising to the same temp.

A lot of people don't have the room to do this without relocating their battery, which most people don't do. So they just do it the lazy way.

·
Premium Member
29,826 Posts