Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, noob here.

I noticed there was a similar thread about this but my issue is not quite the same so I didn't want to hijack that thread.

I recently bought a 2002 Accord EX with 36K. It seems to be in great shape except that so far I'm only averaging around 17miles/gal. The car runs and drives great, it just gets bad mileage. Any ideas on what might be causing this? What can I look at? I'm fairly handy, what can I check myself?

·
Registered
582 Posts
well i think the car gets 20-26 or something from the factory..someone can fix that if needed. i was averaging about 18 until i got intake and exhaust and now i get about 20. however when i first got my car, i was averaging under 15 but that was fixed when i got the egr valve recall done. driving conservatively will help alot, i drive relatively conservatively and average 20, im sure if you drove even more you could get 22-23

·
Registered
24 Posts
keep your rpms under 3,000 and get your EGR valve replaced. Then you should be doing better. I get 320 miles to the tank and I drive pretty rough. I don't understand why you would be getting that low of mileage. It's probably the EGR valve.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
cc00rdpower said:
keep your rpms under 3,000 and get your EGR valve replaced. Then you should be doing better. I get 320 miles to the tank and I drive pretty rough. I don't understand why you would be getting that low of mileage. It's probably the EGR valve.

OK, I'll check into that. We did take a trip this weekend and I got around 26 on the highway.

·
Registered
24 Posts
26mpg sounds good to me. Next time your sitting at a stop light, watch your rpms and see if they move, even the slightest bit. That's a sign that your EGR valve is going bad or is clogged.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
cc00rdpower said: