Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im turbocharged my setup consists of a t3/t4 turbo tial 38mmwastegate,runnin at 6.5psi,tuned with hondata,2.5chargepipes,2.5downpipe,3inchexhaust with 3inch muffler how much am i lookin to gain if i went from 2.5 to 3 inches in diameter?

·
Registered
141 Posts
I'm not a turbo expert or anything... but in theory, having a 3 inch exhaust pipe with a 4 cyl. will defeat the perpose. Correct me if I'm wrong...

Caleb

·
Registered
141 Posts
Hmmm.... that's what I thought! lol

Caleb

·
Registered
6,555 Posts
so you're looking to swap out your 2.5" downpipe for a 3" one right?
i would leave it alone for now untill you get a bigger turbo or something.
if you go to 3" now you might experience boost creep and a tad more turbo lag (if any).

·
Registered
141 Posts
Your turbo will lag less, but with less resistence comes less torque...

Caleb

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
im just changine the exhaust itself only the downpipe is 2.5 im leaving that alone and my flexpipe is the stock size of whatever it is but im upgrading it to 2.5 from kteller and the 3inch exhaust will go from the flexpipe to the muffler itself and the muffler itself is 3 in diameter from kteller.

·
Registered
141 Posts
I think factory pipes is 2.25", but you really might want to reconsider the 3" idea.... It's not a bad idea, in fact, it's a great idea. But around town you may suffer. Anyway, if you decide to, let me know how it turns out.

Caleb

·
Mowing ur Mom's lawn
2,885 Posts
iLLeFFeKt CiViC said:
so you're looking to swap out your 2.5" downpipe for a 3" one right?
i would leave it alone for now untill you get a bigger turbo or something.
if you go to 3" now you might experience boost creep and a tad more turbo lag (if any).