Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, I did a search and found some articles on rev matching, but I'm still a little confused.

Can someone explain as if I was a dumbass?

Lets say i wanna do a 5 to 3 switch

Say you're in fifth now,
take foot off gas,
clutch in,
gear in neutral,
give some gas,
gear in third,
clutch out/gas in

asking b/c I'm new to driving a stick

·
Registered
353 Posts
Its also known as double clutching and you actually do not need to do it. Even going from 5 to 3 gear. Make sure your not at to high of an RPM or going from 5-3 you could redline. My dad used to race cars cant remember what class but it wasnt pro or anything but their cars didnt have syncros like we do. They had to double clutch every downshift im not sure if its still like that or not. I double clutch when im not to lazy. It just saves some work on the syncros gives a longer life time. As for any performance gain out of double clutching there isnt really any unless you like driving that way and can handle your car better.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Not really the idea behind double clutching is that you clutch shift to neutral, rev match, clutch shift to gear.
Same thing different name. Your matching you engine tranny and wheel speed up.

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
now you guys confused me further,

is what i listed correct for rev matching or for double clutching?

Thanx for your help though.

·
Banned
2,834 Posts
Originally posted by exzeltus now you guys confused me further,

is what i listed correct for rev matching or for double clutching?

Thanx for your help though.
No,

Revmatching can be done to include heel toeing and or double clutching.

You don't NEED to double clutch your car or our cars. Our transmission doesn't require it and although it may be slightly kinder to the tranny it is NOT neccessary and actually east up time when shifting competitively.

REV MATCHING:

Gear in 5th,