Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was planning on buying a buffing machine, and I wanted to see which is the best type of buffer to buy ,based on quality made,and will do the job the quickest.... dewalt?? porter cable???etc...

·
Registered
405 Posts
as long as it works it really doesn't matter. the real results are derived from technique. an old friend of mine uses a porter cable ($55), i use a cheap walmart one ($22). I've been detailing for 12 years, even ran my own side business for a while. He's been doing it for 3. Technique is everything.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I agree, technique is what makes the difference. One of my buddies uses a DeWalt DW849 but its for more experienced people, it'll take the paint off. Porter Cable makes some good ones but its still in the technique. :)

·
Registered
107 Posts
i have a Craftman..love it.. and ive used dewalt.. hand-inhand performance.. both are great..you can get a lil cheaper with craftsman.. and a warranty i know thats good with if it breaks.... and Meguirs has a kit now.. :confused

·
Registered
864 Posts
If you're just starting out, do not get a rotary, you will more than likely mess up your paint trying to figure out technique. Instead, try to find a Porter Cable 7336 or 7424 (basically the same unit). It's a Dual-Action, and it works very well. You don't have to worry about messing up your paint with it. Get a decent set of foam pads and a couple of products you a comfortable using.

If you do end up buying a rotary, go to a junk yard and get a couple of scrap body panels to work on before you tackle your car.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Yeah if ur new a rotary might be a little much if your new. Im new also and am getting PC 7424 and a intro kit from autogeekonline.net. Rotary's can burn paint if not used properly, but can get the job done fast.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Hey scriptone,