Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

Premium Member
33,658 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Inaugural 10 Inducted Into Hall of Fame; Magical Night Wraps Up Convention

SCCA Staff Writers

(l-r) Barbara Bird (accepting on behalf of Tracy Bird), Rob Walker, Barbara Fraire and Katie Jaques (accepting on behalf of Vern Jaques), Sue Roethel, John Fitch, Bill Milliken, Art Trier and Michael Kanaley (accepting for grandfather Cam Argetsinger). (Steflik Image)
KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Jan. 31, 2005) – The inaugural 10 members of the Sports Car Club of America Hall of Fame were inducted Saturday night during what was referred to as a magical conclusion to the 2005 SCCA National Convention at the Westin Crown Center in Kansas City.

The inaugural class of 10 included some of the most influential people in SCCA’s first 60 years, representing road racing, Solo and Rally. The class included: Cameron Argetsinger, Tracy Bird, John Fitch, Arthur Gervais, Harry Handley, Vern Jaques, Bill Milliken, Sue Roethel, Art Trier and Rob Walker.

Fitch, Milliken, Roethel, Trier and Walker were each in attendance to receive their honor, as well as the families of Argetsinger (who was scheduled to attend, but could not due to bad weather in the Northeast), Bird and Jaques.

“There are so many people deserving of this,” Trier, who remains active in the Solo community, said. “I am extremely honored. I am extremely humbled as well.”

Further giving current members a look back into the rich history of SCCA was keynote speaker Denise McCluggage, who spoke on her experiences as a racer with SCCA and Internationally in the 1950s and ‘60s.

“The past is like a foreign country,” McCluggage said in her opening statement. “They do things differently there.

“But I look at what SCCA is now and I think it’s pretty cool,” she later remarked.

The evening, which was attended by most of the nearly 500 Convention attendees, started with the awarding of many of the top awards for the 60,000 member organization. Al Mitchell was presented the top Solo Award, the Solo Cup. Outgoing Director Phil Mellor was presented the Bill Bradshaw Award for contributions to the Performance Rally program. Earning the John McGill Award for longterm Club Racing service was Bob Lybarger. Reigning Formula Vee Club Racing Champion Jeff Loughead was presented the President’s Cup.

Kathy Barnes, of New England Region, was presented with the Woolf Barnato Award—the highest honor in the Club—for her long term contributions to all facets of the organization.

Additionally, the following awards were presented during the three-day convention:

Club Racing
David Morrell Award: Bill Johnson
George Snivley Memorial Award: Dr. Joseph Hume
Jim Fitzgerald Rookie of the Year Award: Ryan Ciechanski
Kimberly Cup (Most Improved Driver): Kyle Watkins
Martin W. Tanner Award (Bravery): Members of the turn one staff during the Heavenly Hazel event at Heartland Park.

Performance Rally
ClubRally Region of the Year: St. Louis Region
ClubRally Division of the Year: Southern Pacific Division
ClubRally of the Year: Wild West, Northern Pacific Division
ProRally of the Year: Rim of the World

Regional Achievement Award: New England Region and Old Dominion Region
Divisional Achievement Award: Central Division
National Tour Rally of the Year: Badger Trails, Land O’Lakes Region
Arthur J. Gervais Award: “Highway Robbery,” California Sports Car Club and “Steel Haul,” Steel Cities Region

Solo II Divisional of the Year: Midwest Division, Oklahoma Region
Rookie of the Year: Andy Aust
Driver of the Year: Tim Aro
Driver of Eminence: Gary Thomason

Web site Awards
Small Regions
1st Place: Pan Am
2nd Place: Middle Georgia
3rd Place: Salina

Medium Regions
1st Place: Southern West Virginia
2nd Place: Oklahoma
3rd Place: Ozark Mountain

Medium-Large Regions
1st Place: Mohawk-Hudson
2nd Place: South Carolina
3rd Place: Western New York

Large Regions
1st Place: St. Louis
2nd Place: Arizona
3rd Place: Ohio Valley

Jumbo Regions
1st Place: Northwest
2nd Place: Chicago
3rd Place: Florida

1st Place: Southwest
2nd Place: Midwest
3rd Place: Central

Newsletter Awards
Small Regions
1st Place: Salina
2nd Place: Southwest Montana
3rd: Southern Indiana

Medium Regions
1st Place: Ft. Wayne
2nd Place: Wichita
3rd Place: South Bend

Medium-Large Regions
1st Place: Glen
2nd Place: Buccaneer
3rd Place: Kansas City

Large Regions
1st Place: Neohio
2nd Place: Finger Lakes
3rd Place: Houston

Jumbo Regions
1st Place: Oregon Region
2nd Place: San Francisco
3rd Place: Central Florida

1st Place: SoPac News

Region Achievement Awards
Small Regions
1st Place: Southern Indiana
2nd Place: Salina
3rd Place: Red River

Medium Regions
1st Place: Blue Mountain
2nd Place: Las Vegas

Medium-Large Regions
1st Place: Kansas City
2nd Place: Kansas
3rd Place: Continental Divide

Large Regions
1st Place: St. Louis
2nd Place: Neohio
3rd Place: Finger Lakes

Jumbo Regions
1st Place: San Francisco
2nd Place: Florida
3rd Place: Oregon

Tom Burke Award: Hawaii Region


Link to story:
1 - 1 of 1 Posts