Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a CEL with DTC 3 Map Sensor Circuit problem.
The last time I got this, I found the connector to the Fuel Enrichment relay was bad, so I replaced it with a soldered joint. This time, the connection seems to be okay but I've been getting a stuttering engine at low speeds (< 5 mph) or accelerating slowly from a stop. It stalled once when trying to accelerate hard out from a low speed.

I suspect the Fuel Enrichment Relay has gone bad but I don't know how to troubleshoot it. Any one know what tests I can subject it to in order to verify its operation? I've considered getting the MAP controller to replace it but I don't think if it will fit under my Neuspeed Strut bar since the sensor connector is already tight under the bar.

BTW, I'm running a D16Y8 with the stock 6psi boost, Walbro fuel pump, and Cartech FMU. I've been running this setup for almost 2 years now.

On another note. I don't konw if my fuel pump is going because I hear a lot of vibration from the tank and pump when the tank it's less than half full, and especially when under braking. Anyone have any experience with their pump going bad?

·
Registered
303 Posts
I would suggest getting the Map Controller. I would trust solid-state devices for reliability way before a relay and a switch. I have been working with military spec electronics for years and I have lots of experience with flakey switches and relays. However, I am not sure what is causing your problem. Just some food for thought. Good luck.

Edit: You could try jumping the contacts on the Boost Pressure Switch and listen for the audible click of the relay engaging. I am not sure when the circuit has power but the key may need to be in the ON position...or it may need to be running. I am not sure.

·
Registered
3,966 Posts
johnlude85 said:
most of the time you cant boost with a stock map sensor because of the added manifold pressures.