Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I’ve got a 95 integra ls that’s in fairly good condition. But its been in a moderate wreck. And im thinking about swapping out the engine into a civic hatch dx. Preferably a 98 or 99.

I have no experience in swapping engines. But im pretty confident and can problem solve pretty well.

My question is that if I do swap engines. What types of thing would I have to do, to make it legal? Such as dealing with the DMV, and SMOG. Are there any paper work involved? And what else should I need to know before I do this.

And Does anyone know any good sites or any books or prints out there that I can purchase that will help me with the engine swap?

alright ya;ll gotta go to work....

thanks for any help!

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
I would be intereted in the integra...... let me know if your wiling to sell it..... how badly damaged and approximently how much you need for it....... I can pick up ...... also does it have a pinkslip title or salvage?

·
Registered
432 Posts
Most states don't allow you to put an older engine in a newer car. It has to be the same year or newer.

·
Registered
1,967 Posts
...but most states never find out...and i don't think most people at emission testing will have any idea what motor you have, at least around here they don't even look.

·
Registered
432 Posts
cmills83 said:
...but most states never find out...and i don't think most people at emission testing will have any idea what motor you have, at least around here they don't even look.
Your probably right about "most states", but California is pretty strict.

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
i've been facing the same dilemma for a while. . . indiana doesn't have testing of any kind really (not that i'm aware of) but i'm thinkin about maybe moving to san jose, ca in the future so that kinda botches is. it's really f'n hard to find a 2000year engine for cheap, that's for sure.

·
Registered