Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been running N/A, and it's been fun, but I'm finding that it's a pain in the ass to make decent power on a car that is still a comfortable daily driver. My bottom end is starting to go. My oil is constantly dirty, and my powerband is starting to feel a little flat. I haven't done any tests, but I'm afraid that my rings are failing. 193,000 miles and revving to 8K RPMs will do that to an engine...

I'm currently rebuilding a D16Z6 block from a blown up engine that dropped a valve on the #1 cylinder. I'm planning on boring it over and replacing the pistons with 75.5mm oversized OEM pistons. Yes, I said OEM, rather than forged. I don't have that kind of money, and this is my first time building an engine, so I'm trying to keep the budget low. I'm not going to turbo it right away, but when I do, I'm not aiming for any kind of crazy numbers. I've heard that the D16Z6 can handle 200whp. That would be plenty for a daily driver, and would still be impressive at the track... Even 180whp would make me happy. I was curious though about how much strength I'm losing with the .5mm overbore? I'm also planning on reusing the original rods and crank, and getting honda OEM bearings.

My head is a rebuilt Z6 head from a dismantler with JG Redline springs, refaced OEM valves, and a Skunk2 stage 2 cam. I'm planning on going back to a stock cam for now, maybe getting a Crower turbo stage 2 cam, but keeping the upgraded springs for the extra stability and because it's easier to keep those than to put stock ones in. ;)