Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a quick question on the Honda Prelude (4th gen) engine. Here is my qualm
I just bought a 4th gen Prelude from the dealer...

It had VTEC floormats and a DOHC VTEC sticker on the back and it has DOHC VTEC on the valve cover, so I assumed it was the upper model Prelude

Well the carfax I got from the dealer said it was a Prelude S...I guess base model...H23??? My engine bay says 2259cc (which equates to 2.3L which would be the H23)

However it has a VTEC controller and you cant put VTEC controllers on the H23, at least according to the box

I am a newb and dont exactly know when the VTEC is "supposed" to be kicking in if at all. The V-AFC says something like 4800 (I forgot and I just checked it...LOL)

I checked the block and it says H23A1. Now that isnt a VTEC engine right.........

My question is can you bolt on H22 head on a H23 block.....if not....can the DOHC VTEC vavle cover fit on the H23 head??? Alos what is the fuel cut on teh H22 or H23...I am hitting fuel cut liek at 5500rpm or so......

Excuse the long post and my newbness. I am just came from the Nissan camp and we didnt have all these different engine types....

·
Registered
2,222 Posts
hmm... prob jsut a misprint. you would def notice a diff between a a and a vtec prelude. do you have plastic hubs? what does your tach say? redline etc...

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Car has........

7500redline
alloy wheels (OEM)

The carfax said it was an S. The insurance guy when I gave them the VIN said it was an S. I just free revved and the highest I got was 6000rpm then it started bouncing off the revlimit.