Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6,969 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I picked up a 1991 Acura Integra LS Special Edition. Its got DC Sport headers, Greddy exhaust, lowered 1.75" with Eibach springs. Sorry, i probably mangled the spelling of that. Anyway, this things still got the stock 14" rims on there. The first thing im doing is getting new ones. Im thinking 16", but Id like to keep the same outside diameter. What tire dimensions would I need for a 16X7" rim? Is 7" too wide? Im 16, and im just learning with cars (been riding/working on bikes since i was 13). If so, what would you recommend? Thanks a lot. :D

·
Registered
342 Posts
Wow... you dont know much about cars, but I guess you've been in a bike world all your life. 205 is the width, 40 is the % of the width that is your sidewall. Ugly is subjective, I really dont care as to how the brakes look underneath, they're not exactly super spiffy like the cross drilled ones on the bikes you see. Just consider them ugly in comparison to bike brakes.

·
Registered
8,144 Posts
205/45/16 is a closer match to 195/60/14.

205/45/16 = 23.1-23.3"
195/60/14 = 23.0-23.2"
205/40/16 = 22.3-22.7"

Like bicycles, even though the width is a specific numerical measurement, one company's 205 might be significantly wider than another's 205, just like one company's 2.1"-wide mountain bike tire can be way bigger than another's 2.1". For instance the Falken Azenis 205 an be up to 220mm wide in reality.

And yeah your brakes will start to look pretty shitty. :(

·
Registered
4,605 Posts
White98LS said:
205/45/16 is a closer match to 195/60/14.

205/45/16 = 23.1-23.3"
195/60/14 = 23.0-23.2"
205/40/16 = 22.3-22.7"