Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie question: can I connect 2 comps with a USB cable?

Yeah yeah, I know. I'm new at this ;). Anyway, can it be done? I'm asking because i dont want to go get a cable for nothing. I need to get some file off my old Compaq and onto the new Vaio, but the Compaq doesnt have a CD-RW. I need a faster way to transfer about 1Gb of crap between comps than 700 floppies.

·
Registered
2,417 Posts
do both computers have network cards?:confused: im not sure but if u connect them via cat5 cable, u might be able to transfer it that way. i have 2 computers networked through a router and i know i can send/recieve info between the pc's.

·
Registered
260 Posts
fathead said:
do both computers have network cards?:confused: im not sure but if u connect them via cat5 cable, u might be able to transfer it that way. i have 2 computers networked through a router and i know i can send/recieve info between the pc's.
if you want to connect 2 pc's directly using the network cards... u gotta use a crossover cable....

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
fathead said:
Well, I dont know if the Compaq does, but the Vaio has a 10/100 networking. The thing I'm confused about is neither have a networking socket(with the big phoneline-style plug), but they both have USB ports. I'd also like to avoid the extra cost of a router if I can avoid it because I will probably only use it a couple times.

And what is a crossover cable? Is it one of those 9-pin cables?

·
Registered
260 Posts
Honda_Guy said:
Well, I dont know if the Compaq does, but the Vaio has a 10/100 networking. The thing I'm confused about is neither have a networking socket(with the big phoneline-style plug), but they both have USB ports. I'd also like to avoid the extra cost of a router if I can avoid it because I will probably only use it a couple times.

And what is a crossover cable? Is it one of those 9-pin cables?