Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im looking at a exedy "stage 1" organic clutch. it supposedly can withstand 210 ftlbs of torque. so with that im sure when i spray nitrous that ill be fine.

now i guess im still looking and researching clutches and ill consider other names i really dont know anything abot clutches. there is only a slight chance that people here will know anything about clutches first hand.

i also want to lighten my flywheel. a machine shop will be doing that.

How light is too light on the factory casting?

and i guess i need to know is there anything that i should replace when i have the tranny out?

PS i cant spend anymore than 450 dollars i dont exactly have gobs of money

· Olde School Ricer
8,762 Posts
I personally would not have a machine shop lighten your factory flywheel. I guess its possible for them to do, but I wouldn't.
I have a clutchmasters 8lbs flywheel and its too light, it makes daily driving interesting. I haven't looked at clutchs in years so I wouldn't be alot of help for good stuff on the market.

Make sure you change your pilot bearing and throw out bearing when you change you clutch. If you decide to use your factory flywheel, you will want to scuff it or have it resurfaced before you put it back together. Don't forget to lock tight and torque everything to spec.

Wish I had more insight, but thats a start for you.

· Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
lol you only really can answer my questions. i know people do lighten factory flywheels but im just completly broke now and im looking for ways to save money.

how fast does the light flywheel rev? isnt that engine s/c? (stalked you for awhile) and what clutch and engine are you using?

i guess ill be doing more research about lightening the flywheel and ill post it up as i find out more things

· Olde School Ricer
8,762 Posts