Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
don't really know whether to post this in the engine forums or the civic forums, but since the main question deals with the car itself i guess i'll post here.

I don't own a civic yet, but am looking to purchase one. i don't really know anything of hondas except they are cheap and reliable. I recently bought my wife a 2004 CR-V, and we love it. Back in the day i was part of the VW crew, having numerous GTI VR6's and had fun with them. Then i graduated to BMW and most recently, MINI.

I am looking to cut my costs now that i have a new child, plus i want to still have fun. I will send the MINI off, and probably purchase a very old civic.... i don't quite know what i want yet in terms of what year or what not, but it will largely go based on what is easiest and cheapest to do for what i want to do.

ultimately I want to do an engine swap - not myself mind you, but hopefully at a local shop. I want the car to be a sleeper (i'm not a big fan of wings, bodykits, rims or anything.... and i need a 4-door because of the baby and wife.... i also want a manual to retain the fun factor. I was looking at the '92-'95 civic sedan 5-speed (works perfect for me) and the '90 - '93 accord sedans 5-speed (larger and older-looking, but seems to work).... i like both body styles but could also settle for the '88-'91 civic sedans if absolutely necessary as well.

i have come from internet researching to realize the "apparent" golden swap for hondas is the B16a for the civics, or H22 for the accords... is this correct? there are hundreds of pages on the internet all saying different things, and not many being of much help...

Ultimately, i want to know which is easiest, most fun, most fuel efficient, and cheapest to do? I have a MINI Cooper S right now, and am going to sell it to make some money - i figure i can build a honda just as fast and economical and pocket some serious dough.