Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yeah, I'm still new to all this stuff, and a little bit confused. I'm looking at all these threads about head swaps. What do all the letters and numbers represent? And would it be possible for me to bolt a Si head onto my 98 EX? What would I have to do?

·
Registered
747 Posts
The letters and number signify engine family, engine displacement and engine generation. for example:

K20A2
K = K-series engine family
20 = 2.0l displacement
A(2)(3) = 2nd generation K20A, 3rd generation K20A

Honda isn't always sequential when it comes to engine generations either. In the case of the B18C* family, for example, Honda skips ahead 4 numbers. We go from B18C1 to B18C5 with nothing in between.

Generation as it used in this case does not mean the latest is an improvement to the previous. It only means that Honda made changes to the original engine family design and gave it a new designation

:noo No a DOHC head will not fit a SOHC block

·
Registered
7,273 Posts
Punx122 said:
Yeah, I'm still new to all this stuff, and a little bit confused. I'm looking at all these threads about head swaps. What do all the letters and numbers represent? And would it be possible for me to bolt a Si head onto my 98 EX? What would I have to do?
head swaps are usually driven toward making a non-vtec engine vtec. thus your ex can't have it done since you have SOHC (single over head cam) vtec. your motor is the D16y8, d-series.

Honda engines have interchangeable parts, as long as they are from the same series. not all parts are but most (there are slight differences in certain cases but it still works or functions at least either way). All of the DOHC (dual over head cam) are b-series motors, except the d16zc, but that is a older motor. B and D series parts are not interchangeable. So no you can't put a DOHC motor on a SOHC block.

·
Registered
41,903 Posts
98civcEK said: