Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am new to this fourm and i did try to see if anyone had posted this thread but it is so long and i got to like page five so i just gave up and decided to post this question....ikay with all the babble out of the way....i just picked up a 1993 honda civic hatchback cx with the d15y8 engine with a/c but no power....now i want to do a rear disc conversion to it but i was wondering if i had to pull it off of an si hatchback or could i use the ones off of a coupe or sedan of either the same year or 1992-1995? thank you very much for answering my question (i know a lot about accords and preludes just stiil learning about civics)

craig

·
Registered
10,384 Posts
any 92-00 civic rear discs will work, just make sure to get all the parts you'll need. also any 94-00 integras will work as well, maybe the older ones too, but i'm not 100% on that

·
Registered
11,248 Posts
yup... any 92-00 civic or 94-01 teg will work. also read the link in my sig. you will also need the apropriate prop valve and possibly master cylinder and booster to have everything working properly.

However having done the rear disc conversion myself, I'd recommend you put your money elsewhere. Upgrade your fronts to integra or civic ex fronts. Adding rear discs will do very little to improve your braking.

·
Registered
10,384 Posts
kommon_sense said:
yup...
...Adding rear discs will do very little to improve your braking.
but it looks soo much better than drums :p

·
Registered
372 Posts
thats a good link
do you need to have the master cylinder from a teg or can you get by with the civic master cylinder?

·
Registered
372 Posts
kommon_sense said:
yup... any 92-00 civic or 94-01 teg will work. also read the link in my sig. you will also need the apropriate prop valve and possibly master cylinder and booster to have everything working properly.