Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm a noob here, and I've looked around for past threads on this topic but can't seem to find anything...

I have a friend who's a mechanic that's going to help me replace my timing belt. Since I have to replace the cam seals can I also install new cam sprockets easily? I'm assuming I have to remove the sprockets in order to install the seals, so can I install AEM cam gears (or another brand, if anyone has experience w/these please let me know) since I'm replacing the seals? I don't plan on changing the timing yet, but since I'm in there I figure I might as well upgrade the sprockets as well. Is it any easy swap or are there other issues?

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks

blue meanie -- thanks, i'll definitely make sure to do that. do you have cam gears installed? if so, what brand do you have and do you recommend them?

mactown-- getting an upgraded camshaft w/adjustable gears would definitely be better and allows for greater tuning range b/c the lobe profiles are more aggressive, w/the added +/-10 degrees from the adjustable gears, but just having the adjustable gears alone also helps as well...correct me if i'm wrong, but i thought just by retarding/advancing the timing w/adjustable gears can increase horsepower w/the stock camshafts.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
thanks for the input guys...

i don't plan on tuning it on a dyno yet, but just setting everything to 0 on the cams and installing them. there shouldn't be any change in performance w/these cams if i haven't changed the timing right? (just wondering if the adj cams would be lighter and if that would help at all)

·
Registered
17 Posts