Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After riding in a turbocharged GSR I am convinced that it is an excellent platform to build on. However, I am worried that if I put that much money into an LS then it would be stolen because Honda's and the aftermarket parts on them are very desireable. Should I purchase an LS and turbocharge it and take my chances with thieves or is it not worth the hassle? I apologize if this post should be in another section but I wanted to get some opinions from those with turbocharged Honda's.
BTW:I have been on the boards for over a year. I have done a lot of reading and posted a few times but for some reason it says that I am a newbie. Oh well, I just wanted to clear that up so people don't start telling me to go read a bunch of the posts that I already have.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Where did I get confused about the GSR and LS. I mentioned that I rode in a boosted GSR and would like to build upon the Integra platform. When I said that I thought it was an excellent platform I meant the Integra, not just specific to the GSR. The major difference between the GSR and the LS is VTEC. I don't care about VTEC if I am going to turbocharge and the LS block has a lower compression than the GSR so it will be a little better for boosting without building internals. If I remember correctly the LS tranny also has gears that are a little bit taller, but that is not a bad thing. I would be modifying the whole suspension so I could care less that the stock suspension on the GSR is better and I don't care about the leather and other amenities that the GSR includes.

·
Registered
303 Posts
higher compression is better for boost. less boost and more power. Careful tunnig and dyno time are the keys to having a successfuly boosted high compression boosted car.
LS is a cheap way to go fast and I recomend it to anyone who is on a tight budget.
just my .2 cents

Blaze

·
Registered