Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the civic world really. i bought an 08 mugen si wheich i love, but i want more power from it so im going turbo. i dont know anything about k20 internals and was wondering what i need to upgrade to be able to run 10 psi boost reliably. and possibly more then that in the future. thanks for the help

· Registered
4,633 Posts
First thing you need to understand is that "psi of boost" isn't enough information to determine any factors of safety. You need to find out how much horsepower the stock block can take. A big turbo at 5psi could make the same power as a small turbo at 9psi...both with completely different powerbands.

I'm not a K-series guy, so I don't know the going rating for how much power the stock block can take (for example, the B18 motors can usually take 300whp on stock internals without running into issues). So search around and figure out what some conservative numbers are for the Civic, or some numbers it can take with some internal building.

You also need to find a K-series tuner that has K-Pro or AEM software (or anything that can tune OBD2 K-series cars). You need to figure out what turbo you want to go with, and whether or not you want to try and find a "kit" or do it all custom. Most of the kits come with generic turbos that usually don't make the power where you want it when compared with choosing your own turbo.

You need to do a lot of research before even thinking about buying anything. Don't rush into it. Take a few or several months to become fairly knowledgeable about all the variables when boosting....from engine internals, to boost accessories, to boost plumbing, to pre-ignition/detonation, tuning, exhaust systems from the manifold down to the pipe sizing, proper turbo sizing, fuel delivery, tires.......etc...

· Super Nazi Mod
5,806 Posts