Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
887 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I decide to put pioneer 6x9" speakers from my dads car into mine since he doesn’t even use them. So I take his off and everything is going fine until I get to mine. I get into my trunk and see that the rear speakers are very small and poorly wired. The speakers were also pioneers but they were 4" or 5" speakers. The idiot that owned the car before me was too cheap to buy 6x9s so he put 4" or 5" speakers in the rear, no wonder it sounded like shit. So I took out the plate that was holding down the small speakers and realized that the hole in the plate was too small for my 6x9. Just so you people would know what I’m talking about, here are some pics.

Old speakers compared to my 6x9s

The plate holding the old speaker down

The plate with the speaker in it so you would get the idea

My question is since this is my first time doing this, was there ever a factory plate designed to hold the 6x9s? Where can I get the plates or is it best to customize? My car is an lx 94

·
Registered
3,062 Posts
it is usually 6X9 at the back and there was no plate on mine, go to crutchfield.com and check their online fitment for your car

·
Registered
6,716 Posts
kevinthefawker said:
you would need to get the 94-95 ex rear speaker brackets
He can cut that bracket to hold the 6x9.
Its the same general shape as my 6x9 bracket but he would just need to cut and drill a bit to get it right.

Also, on LX I beleive there were 6.5 speakers all around, not 6x9 in rear................altho i could be wrong.

·
Registered
772 Posts
TSM_Pikachu said:
He can cut that bracket to hold the 6x9.
Its the same general shape as my 6x9 bracket but he would just need to cut and drill a bit to get it right.

Also, on LX I beleive there were 6.5 speakers all around, not 6x9 in rear................altho i could be wrong.