Honda and Acura Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I just got a GSR (used to have an LS), and it has about 30k miles on the engine rebuild. I'm a delivery driver and I've been considering switching over to Redline Synthetic motor oil or Amsoil motor oil. My question is, since I start my car often, maybe 10-15 times a day, which weight oil would be the best? I am thinking of 10w40, 5w30 or even 0w30 (40?) be a better viscosity for start up protection? I don't race OFTEN but it's important to me that the oil I choose can hold up when I push to 8000 rpms.

·
Registered
5,438 Posts
flyingtoaster said:
I hear that engine block heaters are good for cold starts, but maybe that's just for cold weather.

they're good for real cold weather like mountains and whatnot... let it run for about 30-60 sec when you start it to let the oil warm up to flow better and reach nooks and crannies like up in the valvetrain... then dont ask too much of the engine till the oil is at flowable viscosity... get an oil pressure gauge if ur worried...

·
Registered
3,780 Posts
It might also be a good idea to bring another key and lock the door while the engine is running, but only when you can keep an eye on the car, of course.

·
Registered
5,438 Posts
flyingtoaster said:
It might also be a good idea to bring another key and lock the door while the engine is running, but only when you can keep an eye on the car, of course.

if hes delivering in suburbia, hes just running 15 feet to a door... no biggie... but the second key could be a good idea... if he can remember to not lock the keys in the car...

·
Registered
4,057 Posts
hobie237 said:
if hes delivering in suburbia, hes just running 15 feet to a door... no biggie... but the second key could be a good idea... if he can remember to not lock the keys in the car...

:hehs hahaha...been there....

·
Registered
2,429 Posts