Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
7,625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey what's up, I'm new in the turbo forum, normally I'm big on n/a setups but I'm thinking of turning over a new leaf. I have a 98 hatch with the Y7 motor, and I have a Y8 head/manifold & tranny with Phantom Grip in it. I haven't installed any of teh Y8 setup yet. I would like some advice...how will this work:

Funds are hard to come by but I'm a smart & patient shopper so if I need to build it piece by piece I can do that. I'm trying to decide whether to stay non-VTEC and turbo it, or do the VTEC head and then turbo that. Which would be better? A friend has a very low mileage TD04 from his 2002 WRX which he just replaced with a modded snail so he's offering me it for $175. Should I use it and do my own intercooler/BOV/piping? Or is it not going to work with my small displacement?

Help me out, thanks.

· Registered
7,625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Would a T4 work good on an LS. If the larger displacement can spool it up quicker...I'm thinking if I turbo my car I'll stay non-VTEC to keep some of the other costs down (and tuning hassles)

Because it is just my daily driver but I need some juice! Don't know if I can afford an LS swap though, just to put this turbo on it!

· Registered
320 Posts
Wait. First you have an SOHC, now a DOHC, then a TD04, now a T4...hehehe, what's going on?

The TD04 will work fine on the SOHC, and I'd just keep it non-VTEC, easier. The T4 is probably a little big for an LS motor, in a street car.

· Registered
7,625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·