Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, newbie here - have been floating around months though. Got a JDM VXi a few weeks back (1.5 SOHC VTEC see below) which is a bit underpowered - 128BHP. Am going ahead with a few upgrades and wanted to see what you guys would recommend -

I can supercharge/turbocharge the engine, which given the lack of decent tuning shops over here in Ireland might mean I run into trouble, or I can go ahead with an engine swap - I got offered a B16a as well as a B18c engine today for reasonable cash. Since the two engines are about the same price, I'd prefer to go with the B18c - question though - am I going to run into problems with space - the engine bay is cramped as it is - I also don't want to lose my A/C... and given the choice, would you go for the turbo'd 1.5 or the engine swap??

Cheers...

Ken

·
Registered
2,784 Posts
i would swap the b18 in there......it would make about the same power as a "reasonable" turbo system, and this motor can also be turboed later.............

greddy makes kits for the d15/16 aswell as kits for the B series
these are bolt on kits, your car will not have to be tuned

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
hehe...

have two bmw's as well so I think I feel the lack of power much more than when I had my JDM Civic VTi - which had the same engine!

Looks like it'll be the engine swap route by the way, cheers guy...

·
Registered
65 Posts
You can turbo your SOHC for about half the money of a swap and have about the same power after. However, thats about the limit your going to reach with the SOHC if you want to be able to rely on it as an efficient daily driver.

Doing a swap will be more expensive but will yield more room for even higher gains w/o sacrificing too much driveability.

If you want speed and are on a budget, go turbo. If mom and dad's trust fund just opened to you, go with the swap and the sky is the limit.

·
Registered