Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
help buying car

well im a complete newbie when it comes to preludes and i was thinking of getting one but i was wondering what was the difference between the sh,si-r,and non s,sh,si,si-r on the 97-2001.

·
Registered
3,967 Posts
the 5th gen (97-01) only has three different models, from my knowledge... Two USDM, and 1 JDM exclusive... there's the Base, SH, and the JDM Type S.

the only differences between the Base and SH models as far as powertrain goes is the SH's addition of the ATTS system... a semi-form of traction control from my understanding... I dont know much about it, as I've heard it's a bear to work on... and I had a base model.

the JDM Type S model comes with a more powerful engine... 220hp, with 11:1 CR, higher duration cams, and some other nifty stuff.

other than that, all differences are aesthetic.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Hey,
All I can say is get yourself an SH...
I got one last night, and the thing feels like it's on rails!

In case those of you don't know what ATTS is, it's like the new RL with the SH... It makes the outside wheel turn faster than the inside wheel when exiting a turn, and it basically feels like it's on rails, it won't understeer like a civic, but feels almost like a RWD car...
Think of a wheelchair, holding the inside wheel and turning the outside one will make it turn on a dime... Same idea here...

I say get an SH, besides when someone asks you what model it is, wouldn't you feel good saying it's the top model SH?? Rather than the base model that sounds so bad...

Plus SH's come with a subtle body kit and a nice spoiler, and didn't have the option of an automatic...

P.S. I hate automatics...

·
Registered
1,636 Posts
mberndt said:
Hey,
All I can say is get yourself an SH...
I got one last night, and the thing feels like it's on rails!