Honda and Acura Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok i decided that the y8 tranny would be the next in the line up of mods. Im assuming that all i need is the y8 tranny and it bolts right on...right?

Sence im gonna do all of that i might as well through a better clutch on with it. What brands would you guys recommend for this? Do i have to get a new flywheel or other parts if i do that?

any info you guys can throw at me will be great! help a noob out! :w00t

-jef

·
Registered
7,625 Posts
Yeah, best doing the flywheel & clutch while the tranny is out, only takes a few extra minutes. But FYI you will need a set of 12-point sockets to do those, and a torque wrench. You can hunt around and find lightweight flywheels for less than or right around $200. I got a Clutchmasters, but there are many brands now. I use a Centerforce 2 clutch, but as it's the only aftermarket clutch I've had I got nothing else to compare it to. I'm sure there are better ones but there are definitely much more expensive ones, mine was like $200 with the T/O bearing.

Yes the Y8 tranny bolts right up, the casing and everything external is the same as your stock one.

·
Registered
41,903 Posts
Is there any write up on how to install the new clutch and flywheel?

·
Registered
7,625 Posts
xBenSETSfiRex said:
Is there any write up on how to install the new clutch and flywheel?
Once the tranny comes off, it's as easy as just unbolting it. The clutch has 6 bolts holding it on, and a D-series flywheel has 6 bolts. Just remove and install in a crossing pattern like with lug nuts, when you put them back on torque the flywheel bolts to 80-85 lb/ft and the clutch bolts to like 20 lb/ft I think.

lemonracer said:
are there kits that come with a clutch and flywheel?
do i have to replace the flywheel to have a new clutch? or stage 2?